Santa Barbara Politics, Media & Culture

Monday, April 21, 2008

Former News-Press Reporters to be Honored

While News-Press Editor Travis continued his cabal-making rants today against Dave Davis on the editorial pages (Dave is a long-time cabal member and Executive Director of CEC) the Association for Women in Communication is honoring some of his former colleagues. Although old habits may die hard for each of us -- I have to ask how long before the AWC or some of their key members become part of the cabal as well? Here is the press release with all the info...


===============AWC-SB Press Release===============

Santa, Barbara, CA. - The public is invited to join the Santa Barbara Chapter of the Association for Women in Communications (AWC-SB) for the presentation of the 2008 Women of Achievement Awards at their annual luncheon on Wednesday, May 7th, 2008 from 11:30-1:30 at the Canary Hotel (formerly Hotel Andalucia), 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, California. AWC-SB will acknowledge the work of outstanding women who are role models, demonstrating integrity in their practice and mastery in their respective fields.

Tickets for the luncheon will be $50 for AWC members, $70 for non-members, and $150 for Friends of the AWCSB. There will be a no-host bar. For more info, to RSVP and to purchase tickets, go to, or call 962-5884, or email Sponsorship options are also available. Parking for the Canary Hotel is available in the public lot on Canon Perdido Street.

We are honored to announce that the 2008 Women of Achievement Awards will go to film and multimedia producer Deborah Hutchison, CEO of Panther Productions and "Gutsy Gals Inspire Me" Animated Films, as well as to five former Santa Barbara News-Press journalists Jane Hulse, Melinda Burns, Dawn Hobbs, Melissa Evans, and Anna Davison. Together, these women represent excellence, inspiration and integrity: excelling for many years in their respective communications careers, inspiring through actions and words, and standing, despite great challenges and with incredible courage, for ethics and integrity.

AWC is a 100-year-old national organization which began as a Society for Women Journalists. Established in July 2007, the Santa Barbara chapterof the AWC champions the advancement of women across all communications disciplines by recognizing excellence, promoting leadership and promoting its members at the forefront of the evolving communications era.

Labels: ,


Anonymous Rebels w/o causes said...

I hope in getting ready for this event, some of these women wash their mouth out with soap. Some of their actions and comments have not been universally loved.

4/22/2008 6:56 AM  
Anonymous Many Brave Women said...

Seems slightly off that they would pick 5 of the women who left, as opposed to all of them -- what about Starshine Roshell, Camilla Cohee, Hildy Medina, Maria Zate, Andrea Huebner, Kim Favors, Lara Milton, Kim Burnell, Leah Etling, Sarah Sinclair, Amy Weinstein .. and many others, that's just the list I come up with off the top of my head.

4/22/2008 10:21 AM  
Anonymous Curson said...

Rebels, golly gee, profanity in a newsroom! Horrors! Cursing at malefactors! Who'd a thunk it? (And let's not forget the malefactor -- TKA -- lying about who actually hurled the epithet! Another shock).

Would that some of our esteemed public officials (e.g., Cheney, McBush) received even some of the abuse unjustly heaped on "these women" for their own understandable adventures in the profane, verbal being the least of it in the cases of our current warlike administration.

In fact, only one of the award winners is unquestionably a hurler of the uncouth word. As for the targets of the profanity by "that one woman" -- there are few recipients of salty language who more richly deserve those earthy epithets, except perhaps for those who sign the recipients' paychecks, and those who represent them when they lie in court.

4/22/2008 5:38 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home